Selling books

This may sound silly, and you may think I’m teaching you to suck eggs (like who actually sucks eggs? And where does that saying come from?)

Sorry I digressed, where was I?

Ahh yes, so one of the things I was struggling with was selling to bricks and mortar bookshops. I can send emails and letters all day long, but I’m not comfortable with going into an actual bookshop and selling myself and my books #Introvert.

But today I made the leap, and well knock me down with a hard copy of the lord of the rings. It works.

I was lucky with the first shop, (The Class Room, bookshop, station road, Westgate on sea) Adam the proprietor was super friendly, made me at ease and welcomed me. And listened as I bumbled my way through a sales pitch (practice one if you can) and was happy to take a couple of each book off me (I only packed 6 as didn’t think anywhere would have them, so had to shoot home after to get some more)

The Class Room bookshop is a Lovely little shop, and they are keen to support local authors, with a great choice in books, definitely worth a visit.

So after there, I popped to Ramsgate, first to Moonlane bookshop, unfortunately they limit the number of self published books during the stock ordering and I just missed the last round. But have sent over details of the books and a letter and will wait to see what happens next. My original book launch was to be there but COVID scuppered that and I hadn’t been back since.

Then it was down the Book Bodega harbour street Ramsagte, a new shop that opened just last week. The owner Sapphire was super super friendly, and keen to try my books, so they took a copy of each as well. Their shop has a lovely vibe with what I think will be a coffee bar as well in the near future.

So if you’re after a copy, pop along to the shops and support them, and in turn support me.

Chris

Leave a comment